Walk Length: 5.5 mile circular walk.
There are several car parks in Bungay all suitable for joining the walk at the starting point at Bigod’s Castle, TM 3356 8978, in the centre of Bungay.
Bungay is an old market town rich in history and the town centre is officially recognised as a conservation area by English Heritage. At the centre are the remains of Roger Bigod’s castle rebuilt in 1294 on the site of previous castles. This easy going walk begins at the castle, then follows the river valley to Earsham before ascending the historic Bath Hills overlooking the valley, joining the Angles Way and then dropping back to Bungay.
The walk is mostly flat with a gradual incline at Bath Hills and the terrain is a mix of river bank, quiet lanes, footpaths and farm tracks. There are a number of pubs, cafes and shops in Bungay Town Centre. Whilst in Bungay take time to explore the historic buildings in the town. It is also possible to walk along the Angles Way 7 miles to Beccles and get the bus back. For timetable information contact Traveline East Anglia.
For more Waveney Valley Walks, the full leaflet can be downloaded on the Discover Suffolk website.